

Northeast Florida Regional Council

2024-04

Recommendation of the Nassau County Community Transportation Coordinator

WHEREAS, the Northeast Florida Regional Council (NEFRC) is the Designated Official Planning Agency (DOPA) for the Transportation Disadvantaged Program in Nassau County, and as part of its statutory duty must recommend the Community Transportation Coordinator (CTC) for Nassau County to the Commission for Transportation Disadvantaged (CTD); and

WHEREAS, the contract between the current CTC and the CTD expires on September 30, 2024 due to the Nassau County Council on Aging submitting a resignation letter; and

WHEREAS, the DOPA is required to conduct a competitive procurement process for the Community Transportation Coordinator; and

WHEREAS, NEFRC issued a RFP for CTC services, and the Jacksonville Transportation Authority responded; and

WHEREAS, an Evaluation Committee including NEFRC staff, a transportation planner and staff from another DOPA found the Jacksonville Transportation Authority to be the only respondent that was responsive and qualified and had submitted an excellent proposal and therefore recommends that they be given a five year contract by the Florida Commission for the Transportation Disadvantaged; and

WHEREAS, the Nassau County Local Coordinating Board was informed of this recommendation and indicated its enthusiastic support of Jacksonville Transportation Authority as the CTC; and

WHEREAS, the Executive Committee of the NEFRC approved the recommendation at its April 4, 2024 meeting.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Northeast Florida Regional Council recommends to the Florida Commission for the Transportation Disadvantaged that the Jacksonville Transportation Authority be designated as the Community Transportation Coordinator for Nassau County for a five-year period effective October 1, 2024.

Unanimously adopted by the Northeast Florida Regional Council in a regular meeting assembled in the City of Jacksonville, on the fourth day of April 2024.

Christian Whitehurst President

Elizabeth Payne CEO

